The Flow State

Branden LaCour
October 29th, 2021

Have you ever had that feeling, where you are so in the zone that your brain just stops thinking, and you start running in auto pilot? That is the true form of flow state. The utter joy of pushing yourself to that perfect limit where you aren't working too hard, but you aren't taking it too easy. The flow state.

There is a great book that I read quite a while ago called "Flow: The Psychology of Optimal Experience" by Mihaly Csikszentmihalyi. I keep getting reminded of it here and there, especially with Onewheel.

Mihaly does a pretty extensive study on how people achieve the "Flow" state. Unsurprisingly rock climbers (like me) tend to be a large part of this study, as well as tennis players, and other intensive sports. There is no wonder that we as Onewheelers also benefit from this experience.

What Mihaly gets into, is how and why we get into that effortless flow state, where we seem to move and flow subconsiously. Also take not that it says pyschology of optimal "experience" not "performance" although the two I believe can coincide. Meaning that the book is more focused on keeping us in the beatiful meditative state to experience more joy in life.

The ideas is that we need to be performing at a level that is right between too hard and too easy. Like when I was younger I hated playing videogames against my brother because he was way too good, I never stood a chance. In the same veign I didn't like playing against my 8 year old cousin because he was way too easy to beat. You can probably see what I am getting at, when I played against my friends, it was a very close and heated battle. We achieved videogaming flow state!

The ability to continually up the anti as you improve, and challenge yourself to just the right level of difficulty is an amazing thing, and why I eventually took a break from rock climbing. I had hit my peak/ceiling if you may, so I needed to find something else to fill that void.

Boom! The Onewheel came into my life. It is the perfect tool to hit that flow state no matter where you are. Challenging yourself on that carve or that trick, the skill cap is extremely high, so I took to it like wildfire! No matter what level of rider you are, you can achieve flow state by pushing yourself that much more to get more nimble on your board, to learn a new trick, or just to ride offroad! It can be such a rush when you improve and can utilize it in new ways!

I hope this helped open up your mind on Onewheel riding and mentality in general to get out there and enjoy life even more! Oh, and pick up some Flow State CBD to get your there even quicker! Float on my friends :)

Related Blog Posts

Main Feed

© 2021 The Float life || Built with stoke by Branden LaCour